Peace Is Not A Guarantee (A Message Of Struggle)

My father left when he left
I cried when I cried
Now I try to survive fatherless
It’s hard…
but easy…nothing is
So if you understand what I’m talking about
Have no fear
Don’t pout
The skies will clear
The sun will come out
And flowers will sprout
Without a doubt

I read a book my father left when he left
Kahlil’s The Prophet
Astonished
I understand now
The more our heart is carved by sorrow
The more joy we can contain tomorrow

If you lost a loving, caring father
Would you go on living
Or would you not even bother?

If you lost a loving, caring father
Don’t you think he would want you to continue
And take his life even farther?

I’m taking my father beyond his days
Like he did in his
This is the beauty of ancestry
And we must continue this legacy
On and on beyond infinity
Creating a better world for those in infancy

I’m taking my father beyond his days
Before he passed away
He told me
“Damn! One day you’ll be smarter than I am”
And I think that day has come
Because all of the stupid things he did
I have never done
My son will do the same
And on and on

The message is
Struggle always and all ways for peace
Until your final day has come
Because without the effort
The guarantee is none

Puerto Rican martyr Pedro Albizu Campos had his own struggle against the effects of torture with radiation.

Puerto Rican martyr Pedro Albizu Campos had his own struggle against the effects of torture with radiation.

0 Responses to “Peace Is Not A Guarantee (A Message Of Struggle)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

