I have the answer (And you do too!)

In 2002 a week of uprisings in Southern Peru stopped government plans to privatize water and electricity

In 2002 a week of uprisings in Southern Peru stopped government plans to privatize water and electricity

****This poem is the result of writing down thoughts that were spontaneously coming to my mind. The point of it is to put across the belief in a People’s Struggle, because Power will only come to the People after a People’s Struggle. Another point is that we are all our own liberators, we each have the answer to All People’s problems; it’s just that we have to realize that solving these problems requires us to set aside egos and work together for a common, humanitarian purpose.****

I do not claim
To have the answer
To the world’s problems
But I do

But let me clarify
Because I do have the answer
And I don’t
I hope you understand me

I have the answer
To the world’s problems

It is inside me
Not in its completeness
But in bite sized portions
And the whole meal I can explain

The whole meal
I mean
The complete answer
To the world’s problems
(This is the topic of discussion)

The answer
In its completeness
Is inside you and me
And everyone else

I have the answer
But only part of it
You have the other part
And others have yet other parts

The complete answer
Is in us
Waiting for us to realize it
And for us to trust that answer

Though we should not trust
We can trust when it does good
And if it does good
Let’s continue doing that

All we must do
Is trust that we have the answer
All of us together
Not individually but collectively

If I take my answer
And you take your’s
And they take their’s
And we begin to trust our answer
If we begin to trust “us”
Then the world’s problems are solved
We need only organize our individual answers
Into an “us” that knows no “I”
So that “we” can love
And collectively come together
For a better world
(We can do it)

But the effort must be a joint one

1 Response to “I have the answer (And you do too!)”


  1. 1 jlab2005 August 12, 2009 at 9:06 PM

    Nice man. So much free verse out there is crap (I rarely try dabbling in it), but yours always seems to work and flow somehow. I think everything comes together particularly potently in the last stanza where you basically give “the answer.” A really solid ending. Post more like this!


Leave a Reply

